Manchester Advances to NCAA Division III Baseball World Series

Manchester Advances to NCAA Division III Baseball World Series

Release courtesy of Rose-Hulman

TERRE HAUTE, IN -- Manchester University advanced to the NCAA Division III Championship for the second time in program history with an 8-5 victory over Marietta College in the title game of the Mideast Baseball Regional at Rose-Hulman on Saturday.

The Spartans improved to 39-5-1 on the season and compiled a perfect 4-0 record during the Regional to make its second appearance in the championship round.  The win also eliminated the two-time defending national champions in Marietta from the tournament.

Manchester scored three runs in the first inning, before Marietta rallied to take a 4-3 lead after three innings.  Senior Bryce Murphy then slapped a three-run, bases loaded double to give the Spartans a 6-4 lead they would not relinquish.

After Murphy's double, the left-handed relief pitcher tossed the final three scoreless innings to capture his 13th save of the season.  For his efforts, Murphy was named the tournament Most Valuable Player.

Murphy was one of four Manchester players with multiple hits in the game.  Brad Murphy had two singles, one run and one RBI, Jordan Niemann added two singles with one run and one RBI, and Trevor Kimm had two singles with two RBIs.

Two Marietta players had three hits each to lead the effort for a Pioneers squad that finished 32-14 on the season.  Chris Winpingler and Aaron Hooper led Marietta with three hits each.  Evan Brockmeier added two hits, and Mike Mulvey tossed 3.1 innings of one-run relief for the Pioneers.

Manchester advances to the NCAA Division III Championship to face Wisconsin-Stevens Point on Friday at 5:30 p.m. Central Time.

2013 NCAA Division III Mideast Regional All-Tournament Team:

Bryce Murphy, Manchester (MVP)

Trevor Kimm, Manchester

Corey Marchant, Manchester

Jason Byers, Marietta

Evan Brockmeier, Marietta

Jordan Grilliot, Marietta

Alex Toth, Marietta

Scott Liller, Washington & Jefferson

Eddie Nogay, Washington & Jefferson

Ryan Darner, Thomas More

Bobby Czarnowski, Illinois Wesleyan

Steve Hagen, Wooster