Franklin’s Kyle Ray One of 10 Finalists for 2010 Gagliardi Trophy

Franklin’s Kyle Ray One of 10 Finalists for 2010 Gagliardi Trophy

Release courtesy of Franklin College

FRANKLIN, IN – Franklin College senior quarterback Kyle Ray (Trafalgar, Ind./Indian Creek) is one of 10 finalists for the 2010 Gagliardi Trophy, as announced today by the J-Club of Saint John’s University in Collegeville, Minn.

The Gagliardi Trophy, named after legendary Saint John’s football coach John Gagliardi (pronounced Guh-lahr-dee), the winningest coach in college football history, is given to the top well-rounded football player in Division III. Since 1993, the J-Club and Jostens, Inc. have recognized the top individual achiever in athletics, academics and community service with this prestigious award.

Ray led the Grizzlies to their third Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference championship and third NCAA Division III playoffs berth (both achievements in the last four years) and a 9-2 overall record this fall. He is the second Grizzly to be named one of 10 finalists for the Gagliardi Trophy. Chad Rupp likewise was honored in 2008.

The 10 finalists all are seniors and are comprised of four quarterbacks three running backs, two receivers and one defensive end. The other nine include Mary Hardin-Baylor running back Quincy Daniels, Wesleyan (Conn.) running back Shea Dwyer, Hardin-Simmons quarterback Justin Feaster, Rowan defensive end Matt Hoffman, Case Western Reserve wide receiver Zachary Homyk, Louisiana College quarterback Ben McLaughlin, UW-Whitewater wide receiver Aaron Rusch, St. Thomas running back Ben Wartman, and Trine quarterback Eric Watt.

The Gagliardi Trophy is presented in Salem, Va., site of the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl, at the NCAA banquet the Thursday before the national championship game. Announcement of the four finalists will be made on Nov. 30. This year’s presentation of the Gagliardi Trophy winner will be on Dec. 16.