Grizzlies’ Kyle Ray Among Four Finalists for 2010 Gagliardi Trophy

Grizzlies’ Kyle Ray Among Four Finalists for 2010 Gagliardi Trophy

Release courtesy of Franklin College

FRANKLIN, IN – Franklin College senior quarterback Kyle Ray (Trafalgar, Ind./Indian Creek) is one of the four finalists for the 2010 Gagliardi Trophy as announced today by Jostens, Inc., which presents the award along with the J-Club of Saint John’s University in Collegeville, Minn.

The 2010 Gagliardi Trophy will be presented in Salem, Va., site of the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl, on Thursday, Dec. 16, to honor the most outstanding football player in NCAA Division III on the eve of the Division III national championship game.

For the first time in the award’s history, all four finalists will be on hand for the announcement and presentation.

The Gagliardi Trophy, named after legendary Saint John’s football coach John Gagliardi (pronounced Guh-lahr-dee), the winningest coach in college football history, is given to the top well-rounded football player in Division III. Since 1993, the J-Club and Jostens, Inc. have recognized the top individual achiever in athletics, academics and community service with this prestigious award.

Ray led the Grizzlies to their third Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference championship and third NCAA Division III playoffs berth (both achievements in the last four years) and a 9-2 overall record this fall. The senior led the NCAA in passing efficiency and had thrown 32 touchdown passes at the end of the regular season. Ray, a Dean’s List student majoring in journalism, was named the HCAC Most Valuable Player on offense.

Last week, he was the second Grizzly to be named one of 10 finalists for the Gagliardi Trophy. Chad Rupp likewise was honored in 2008.

The other three finalists all are seniors and include Rowan (N.J.) defensive end Matt Hoffman, Louisiana College quarterback Ben McLaughlin, and Trine quarterback Eric Watt.