Franklin's Mike Leonard Named AFCA Division III Region 4 Coach of the Year

Release courtesy of Franklin College

FRANKLIN, IN – Franklin College’s Mike Leonard on Monday was named the American Football Coaches Association’s 2010 Division III Region 4 Coach of the Year, sharing the honor with Larry Kehres of University of Mount Union.

Leonard this season guided the Grizzlies to a 9-2 overall record, plus a Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference outright championship and subsequent automatic bid to the NCAA Division III playoffs for the third time in four years. Franklin was ranked as high as 19th in the AFCA’s D-III Top 25 poll. Leonard was voted the HCAC’s Coach of the Year for the fourth time in his eight seasons at the Grizzlies helm.

The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association’s five divisions. The winners are selected by active members of the AFCA who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions. The 2010 honorees will be recognized at the AFCA Coach of the Year Dinner at the Association’s 2011 convention in Dallas on Jan. 11.