Franklin's Kyle Linville Selected as Finalist for 2013 Division III Gagliardi Trophy

Franklin's Kyle Linville Selected as Finalist for 2013 Division III Gagliardi Trophy

Release courtesy of Franklin College

Franklin, IN – Franklin College senior split end Kyle Linville (Speedway, Ind./H.S.) has been named one of the 10 finalists for the 2013 Gagliardi Trophy given to the most outstanding football player in NCAA Division III.

The Gagliardi Trophy, given annually since 1993, recognizes excellence in athletics, academics and community service. The award is named after John Gagliardi, Saint John’s University (Minn.) Hall of Fame head football coach with 489 wins, the most in college football history.

This marks the second time in four years that a Franklin player has been named a Gagliard Trophy finalist.

Linville ranks among the top 10 players nationally in three statistical categories. His 14 receiving touchdowns stand fifth best. Linville stands seventh in receptions per game (8.8) and is ninth in receiving yards (115.4 yards per game).

The senior has helped a passing attack that led the nation with 360.5 passing yards per game during the regular season.

Overall, Linville leads all active NCAA Division (I-FBS, I-FCS, II and III) wide receivers with 53 career touchdowns and 4,586 receiving yards. He tops all active Division III wide receivers with 297 catches. Linville, a four-year starter, has been a three-time first-team All-Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference selection.

Linville was named an Academic All-District selection and has a 3.53 cumulative GPA in quantitative analysis and a minor in economics. He has participated in two Polar Plunge events for Special Olympics, visited cancer patients at Riley Hospital for Children, organized dance marathon for cancer research and organized campus and community cleanup efforts following recent storm damage.

Kyle Ray was a Gagliardi Trophy finalist in 2010. He is now a Franklin assistant football coach with responsibilities for quarterbacks.

The Gagliardi Trophy national-selection committee is comprised of 38 former small college football players, business leaders, academicians and sports writers from around the country. Each casts a ballot ranking the 10 finalists. A fan vote, which will serve as the 39th committee member, will be launched on Nov. 26 and run until Tuesday, Dec. 10. You can vote here.

Franklin is 8-3 on the season and will play at No. 5 University of Wisconsin-Whitewater on Saturday, November 30 at 1 p.m. in the second round of the NCAA Division III playoffs.