Hanover College's Wes McKinney Headlines All-HCAC Basketball Selections

Hanover College's Wes McKinney Headlines All-HCAC Basketball Selections

GREENWOOD, Ind. – Hanover College's Wes McKinney (Batesville, Ind. / Batesville) has been named the 2016-2017 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Most Valuable Player and headlines the 12-member All-HCAC 1st and 2nd teams. 

The junior forward led the Panthers to their first HCAC men's basketball title in over a decade this winter.  Hanover finished the season 23-3 overall and claimed a 16-2 mark in conference play.         

McKinney averaged 17.8 points per game and ranked among the conference leaders in rebounds (8.7), assists (1.3) and field goal percentage (50.7%) during conference play this season. Overall for the season, McKinney averaged 18.3 points per game, 8.6 rebounds per game and shot 51.3% from the field, 41% from 3-point range.

Mount St. Joseph University's Adam Goetz (Erlanger, Ky. / St. Henry) has also received special recognition by the conference.  The freshman guard has been named the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Freshman of the Year.  Goetz ranked 17th in the conference in scoring during conference play, averaging 14.5 points per game and also ranked among the leaders with 1.1 steals, 2.2 assists per game, and a 48.1 field goal percentage from behind the arc.

Hanover College head coach Jon Miller has been named the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Coach of the Year for the second time in his career, first time at HC.  Miller led the Panthers to its first HCAC men's basketball title in over a decade in the regular season. Hanover captured the school's fourth HCAC tournament title and claimed its seventh berth into the NCAA tournament with a 58-51 win over Mount St. Joseph Sunday. Hanover currently sits 23-3 overall and for the first time in school history will host the First and Second Rounds of NCAA tournament play on Friday and Saturday. The Panthers will play Westminster (Mo.) at 7:30 p.m. in Collier Arena.

There are four seniors, three juniors, and five sophomores on the team this season. The eight-member Honorable Mention All-HCAC team and All-Sportsmanship team has also been named.  A complete list of the recipients of conference awards follow:

HCAC Awards:

Player of the Year:  Wes McKinney, Hanover College, Jr., F

Freshman of the Year:  Adam Goetz, Mount St. Joseph University, G

Coach of the Year:  Jon Miller, Hanover College

1st Team All-HCAC:

Trevor Lucas, Anderson, Jr., G

Austin Rohde, Bluffton, Sr., G

Cam Fails, Hanover, So., G

Wes McKinney, Hanover, Jr., F

Andrew Finley, Mount St. Joseph, Jr., G

Alex Jones, Transylvania, Sr., G

2nd Team All-HCAC:

Stanley Duncan, Anderson, So., G

Cole Hartman, Anderson, So., C

Aaron Mann, Franklin, Sr., G

Corey Muchmore, Hanover, Sr., C

Charlie Aimone, Rose-Hulman, So., F

Cooper Theobald, Transylvania, So., G

Honorable Mention All-HCAC:

Jared Wentling, Bluffton, So., F 

Michael Parker, Defiance, Sr., G

Tyler Alexander, Manchester, Sr., F/C

Adrian Johnson, Manchester, So., G

Erik Edwards, Mount St. Joseph, Jr., G

Jordan Henry, Mount St. Joseph, Jr., G

Collin Wojcik, Rose-Hulman, Sr., G

Kyle Gullett, Transylvania, So., F

All-Sportsmanship Team:

Cory Kreiger, Anderson

Adam Hopkins, Bluffton

Chris Holmes, Defiance

Kenneth Stalling Jr., Earlham

Trey Boles, Franklin

Nick White, Hanover

Chase Casteel, Manchester

Jake Cropper, Mount St. Joseph

Wade Stallings, Rose-Hulman

Derek Jeffries, Transylvania