Transylvania Claims Ninth Straight HCAC Men’s Golf Championship

Transylvania Claims Ninth Straight HCAC Men’s Golf Championship


KNIGHTSTOWN, IN – Transylvania University’s Nicholas McCarthy (Nicholasville, Ky./East Jessamine) fired a four-round score of 297 at the 2015 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Men’s Golf Conference Championship to lead the Pioneers to their ninth straight HCAC Men’s Golf title. Transylvania tallied a team-score of 1,199, holding off second place Mount St. Joseph University’s total of 1,231. 

McCarthy shot a final-round 78 and fired rounds of 71, 72, and 76 in the first three rounds to finish second at the event. 

Franklin College’s Chris Arnold (Quincy, Ind./Cloverdale) earned the 2015 HCAC Most Valuable Player award after carding a four-round total of 292 (71-73-72-76).

The Pioneers had two other top-eight finishers at the meet, placing Ben Fister (Lexington, Ky./Catholic) in fourth position (299) and Hunter Cloud (Lexington, Ky./Catholic) in seventh (304).

McCarthy, Arnold, Fister, and Cloud all earned All-HCAC recognition. Joining the group on the All-HCAC team are Rose-Hulman’s Sanders Park (Alpharetta, Ga./Milton), Mount St. Joseph’s Eric Hensler (Fairfield, Ohio/H.S.), Manchester’s Quinton Flora (Huntington, Ind./North), and Hanover’s Patric Geary (Clarksville, Ind.).

Hanover’s Tony Rogers (Indianapolis, Ind.) finished ninth in the standings to earn the conference’s Freshman of the Year honor.  Rogers finished with a total of 307, finishing 15 shots off the lead.

Mount St. Joseph finished second behind the Pioneers with a team score of 1,231. Franklin placed third with a total of 1,237, while Hanover finished fourth in the team standings with a total of 1,241. Rose-Hulman tallied 1,260 team strokes for fifth place and was trailed by Manchester (1,271), Defiance (1,276), and Anderson (1,443).

Transylvania head coach Brian Lane was also honored by the HCAC and named Coach of the Year. Lane earned the honor for the ninth time after leading the Pioneers to their ninth straight HCAC men’s golf championship.

Most Valuable Player – Chris Arnold, Franklin College

Freshman of the Year Tony Rogers, Hanover College

Coach of the Year – Brian Lane, Transylvania University


Chris Arnold, FC


Nicholas McCarthy, TU


Sanders Park, RHIT


Ben Fister, TU


Eric Hensler, MSJ


Quinton Flora, MU


Hunter Cloud, TU


Patric Geary, HC


All- Sportsmanship Team

Zach Harvey, Anderson

Derek Lucas, Defiance

Jack Knue, Franklin

Austin Robinson, Hanover

Quinton Flora, Manchester

Eric Hensler, Mount St. Joseph

Kent Kraus, Rose-Hulman

Ben Fister, Transylvania