Transylvania Claims 10th-Straight HCAC Men’s Golf Championship

Transylvania Claims 10th-Straight HCAC Men’s Golf Championship


WABASH, IN – Transylvania University's Nicholas McCarthy (Nicholasville, Ky./East Jessamine) fired a four-round score of 296 at the 2016 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Men's Golf Conference Championship to lead the Pioneers to their 10th-straight HCAC Men's Golf title. Transylvania tallied a team-score of 1,210, holding off second place Mount St. Joseph University's total of 1,221. 

McCarthy shot a final-round 77 and fired rounds of 69, 73, and 77 in the first three rounds to finish second at the event. 

Defiance College's Alex Miday (Canton, Ohio/St. Thomas) earned the 2016 HCAC Most Valuable Player award after carding a four-round total of 295 (68-72-77-78).

The Pioneers had two other top-eight finishers at the meet, placing Jeff Meade (Ashland, Ky./Paul Blazer) in third position (298) and Casey Gilligan (Mason, Ohio/Moeller) in sixth (302).

McCarthy, Miday, Meade, and Gilligan all earned All-HCAC recognition. Joining the group on the All-HCAC team are Mount St. Joseph's Andrew Booth (Canton, Ohio/Canton Central Catholic) and Eric Hensler (Fairfield, Ohio/H.S.), Defiance's Jacob Tinsley (Eaton, Ohio/H.S.) and Hanover's Justin Smith (Indianapolis, Ind./Franklin Central).

Hanover's Smith also earned the conference's Freshman of the Year honor.  Smith finished with a total of 307, finishing in eighth place.

Mount St. Joseph finished second behind the Pioneers with a team score of 1,221. Hanover placed third with a total of 1,228, while Defiance finished fourth in the team standings with a total of 1,237. Rose-Hulman tallied 1,256 team strokes for fifth place and was trailed by Franklin (1,275), Manchester (1,331), and Anderson (1,429).

Transylvania head coach Brian Lane was also honored by the HCAC and named Coach of the Year. Lane earned the honor for the 10th time after leading the Pioneers to their 10th-straight HCAC men's golf championship.

Most Valuable Player – Alex Miday, Defiance College

Freshman of the Year Justin Smith, Hanover College

Coach of the Year – Brian Lane, Transylvania University


Alex Miday, DC


Nicholas McCarthy, TU


Jeff Meade, TU


Andrew Booth, MSJ


Jacob Tinsley, DC


Casey Gilligan, TU


Eric Hensler, MSJ


Justin Smith, HC


All- Sportsmanship Team

Kaleb Weddle, Anderson

Jake Tinsley, Defiance

Sam Godby, Franklin

Jaron Stiers, Hanover

Dylan Burns, Manchester

Weston Atchison, Mount St. Joseph

Luke Peoples, Rose-Hulman

Jeff Meade, Transylvania