Transylvania Claims 11th-Straight HCAC Men’s Golf Championship

Transylvania Claims 11th-Straight HCAC Men’s Golf Championship


TERRE HAUTE, Ind. – Transylvania University's Rob Canady (Gallipolis, Ohio / Gallia Academy) fired a four-round score of 289 at the 2017 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Men's Golf Conference Championship to lead the Pioneers to their 11th-straight HCAC Men's Golf title. Transylvania tallied a team-score of 1,197, holding off second place Mount St. Joseph University's total of 1,207. 

Canady shot a final-round 72 and fired rounds of 74, 72, and 71 in the first three rounds to earn medalist and Tournament MVP honors.

The Pioneers had two other top-eight finishers at the meet, placing Spencer McKinney (Danville, Ky. / Danville) in fifth position (300) and Blake Young (Lexington, Ky. Lexington Christian Academy) in seventh (301).

Canady, McKinney, and Young all earned All-HCAC recognition. Joining the group on the All-HCAC team are Mount St. Joseph's Andrew Booth (Canton, Ohio/Canton Central Catholic) and Mikel Merker (Dayton, Ohio / West Carrollton), Defiance's Jacob Tinsley (Eaton, Ohio / Eaton), Franklin's Colton Kuppler (Sullivan, Ind. / Sullivan) and Hanover's Johnny Vidal (Harrison, Ohio / William Henry).

Franklin's Kuppler also earned the conference's Freshman of the Year honor.  Kuppler finished with a total of 294, finishing in second place.

Mount St. Joseph finished second behind the Pioneers with a team score of 1,207. Franklin placed third with a total of 1,213, while Hanover finished fourth in the team standings with a total of 1,228. Rose-Hulman tallied 1,258 team strokes for fifth place and was trailed by Defiance (1,259), Earlham (1,294), Anderson (1,394), and Manchester (1,401).

Transylvania head coach Brian Lane was also honored by the HCAC and named Coach of the Year. Lane earned the honor for the 11th time after leading the Pioneers to their 11th-straight HCAC men's golf championship.

Most Valuable Player – Rob Canady, Transylvania University

Freshman of the Year  Colton Kuppler, Franklin College

Coach of the Year – Brian Lane, Transylvania University


Rob Canady, TU


Colton Kuppler, FC


Johnny Vidal, HC


Jake Tinsley, DC


Spencer McKinney, TU


Mikel Merker, MSJ


Andrew Booth, MSJ


Blake Young, TU


All- Sportsmanship Team

Anderson Micah Senft
Earlham Garrett Byrd
Franklin Jack Knue
Hanover Gabe Rohleder
Manchester Jacob Hopkins
Mount St. Joseph Jason Sawyer
Rose-Hulman Es Wittayakom