Transy Takes Tight Race in HCAC Men’s Soccer Preseason Poll

Transy Takes Tight Race in HCAC Men’s Soccer Preseason Poll

CARMEL, Ind. – Transylvania University was picked in a vote of league coaches to take the 2019 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference (HCAC) title, narrowly edging Hanover College.

The two teams were split by a mere point, with each squad receiving five first place votes. The rivalry between the Pioneers and Panthers is nothing new, as the two teams met in the HCAC Tournament Championship a season ago, with Transy coming out on top in a penalty kick thriller hosted by Hanover.

Transy will look to build on their 6-1-2 league record of a year ago and hope to do so with the help of three HCAC All-Conference selections back in action in 2019. First teamers Zach Hill (Mt. Sterling, Ky.) and Alex Shkraba (Hebron, Ky.) are joined by second team pick, Charlie Wend (Hebron, Ky.), who combined for nine goals in 2018.

The Panthers, led by 2018 HCAC Coach of the Year Matt Wilkerson, return a wealth of talent, including two of the marquee award winners. Reining Defensive Most Valuable Player, Myles Joseph (Lafayette, La.), and Freshman of the Year, Evan Redmon (Louisville, Ky.) will be back in the Red and Blue, along with seven other All-Conference selections.

With the 2018 HCAC standings a close battle, it's no surprise that the top half of the 2019 HCAC Preseason Poll was a tight race. Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology claimed the third spot with 66 points and Manchester University took fourth with 57 points. The preseason poll results reflect the 2018 final standings as both teams finished third and fourth respectively, with the Engineers posting a 6-2-1 conference record and the Spartans finishing at 6-3 in the league. 

Listed below is the 2019 HCAC Men's Soccer Preseason Poll and the 2019 HCAC Players to Watch.  For more information on HCAC Men's Soccer, visit the websites of any of the participating schools, or go to the HCAC's home on the Internet at  Be sure to stay up to date on all of your Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference news by following @HCACDIII on Twitter and by liking the "HCAC DIII" Facebook page.


(#) Denotes First Place Votes

  1. Transylvania University (5)                              77 pts.
  2. Hanover College (5)                                        76 pts.
  3. Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology               66 pts.
  4. Manchester University                                     57 pts.
  5. Anderson University                                        46 pts.
  6. Mount St. Joseph University                             31 pts.
  7. Earlham College                                              30 pts.
  8. Franklin College                                              26 pts.
  9. Defiance College                                             24 pts.
  10. Bluffton University                                          17 pts.



2019 HCAC Players to Watch:


Name                                      Class    Hometown                 POS

Danny Collins                          SR        Jamestown, Ind.          F

Sean Cain                                SR        Monroe, Ohio              D

Nick Martin                             SR        New Palestine, Ind.     D

Drew Sonefeldt                       JR         Chicago, Ill.                 MF

RJ Macomber                          SO        Marion, Ind.                MF



Name                                      Class    Hometown                 POS

Tim Murphy                            JR         Chesterfield, Mich.     MF

Eric Bender                             JR         Vermillion, Ohio          D

Dalton Taynor                         SO        Troy, Ohio                   F

Jake Kiger                                SO        Groveport, Ohio          MF


Name                                      Class    Hometown                 POS

Bennett Pack                           JR         Glasgow, Ky.               D

Adam Ordel                             SR        Lima, Ohio                   MF

Jarod Brossia                           SR        Curtice, Ohio               MF

Jarren Casto                            JR         Celina, Ohio                F

Carson Macklin                       JR         Shelbyville, Ind.           D

Harrison Hirth                         SO        Lapeer, Mich.              GK



Name                                      Class    Hometown                 POS

Joel Michael Nti-Kyeremeh    JR         Kumasi, Ghana            F

Drew Fitzgibbon                     JR         Cincinnati, Ohio          MF



Name                                      Class    Hometown                 POS

Jordan Thomas                       SR        Whiteland Ind.            MF

Cody Coppess                         SR        Greenville Ohio           MF

Jake Hendricks                        SO        Indianapolis Ind.         GK



Name                                      Class    Hometown                 POS

Evan Redmon                          SO        Louisville, Ky.              MF

Myles Joseph                          JR         Lafayette, La.              D

Josh Hughes                            JR         Lafayette, La.              F

Will Bedel                                JR         Walton, Ky                  GK

Chris Pitre                               JR         New Orleans, La.         MF


Name                                      Class    Hometown                 POS

Matthew Roop                        SR        West Lafayette Ind.    D

Nash Walker                           SR        West Lafayette Ind.    D

Josh Gonzalez                         JR         Portage Ind.                F

Drew Gavit                              SO        Fishers Ind.                 MF

Nick Surber                             JR         Hebron Ind.                 MF

Ryan Worman                         SO        Albion Ind.                  D


Mount St. Joseph

Name                                      Class    Hometown                 POS

Joshua Bailey                          SO        Winchester, Ky.           MF

Justin Ives                               JR         Florence, Ky.               MF

Cameron Willis                       SO        Cincinnati, Ohio          F

Alonzo Garcia-Alvarez            SR        Cleves, Ohio                MF

Nathaniel Schmeusser            SR        West Harrison, Ind.     D

Zachary Tegge                         SR        Cincinnati, Ohio          MF



Name                                      Class    Hometown                 POS

Ethan Butler                            JR         Mundelein, Ill.             D

Ryan Tarr                                 JR         Louisville, Ky.              D

Wyatt McKibbon                     JR         Yorkville, Ill.                D

Pascal Schlee                           SR        Manhattan Beach, Calif.  GK

Travis Bednarek                      JR         Muskego, Wis.            F

George Bulger                         JR         Tokyo, Japan               MF

Brevin Lacy                              JR         Bothell, Wash.            MF



Name                                      Class    Hometown                 POS

Drew Grisham                         SR        Mason, Ohio               GK

Caswell Fuller                          SR        Mt. Sterling, Ky.          MF

Zach Hill                                  JR         Mt. Sterling, Ky.          D

Charlie Wend                          SR        Hebron, Ky.                 MF

Alex Shkraba                           SR        Mt. Sterling, Ky.          F