Defiance Set to Host HCAC Indoor Track & Field Championships

Defiance Set to Host HCAC Indoor Track & Field Championships


INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. --- Defiance College will serve as host for the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships this Saturday. The Rose-Hulman men and women were selected by the coaches in the pre-championship poll to win the 2019 indoor title.

The Engineer men will look for an ninth consecutive indoor title, while the Rose-Hulman women will strive for a third indoor crown. 

The Rose-Hulman men have posted the top HCAC performances in seven of the 17 indoor events.  The Fightin' Engineers men's track and field team are ranked No. 7 in the latest USTFCCCA Great Lakes Region rankings.

Hanover College will look to challenge the eight-time defending champion Engineers on Saturday as the Panthers have earned the top HCAC performances in five of the 17 events this winter.

The Rose-Hulman women's track team has posted seven top marks in the conference this indoor season. On the women's indoor best list, seven out of the ten HCAC institutions post a top mark this winter heading into the championship weekend.

Five indoor track and field student-athletes are individually ranked in the national top 20 in their respective events entering this weekend's championship meet. 

Among the nationally ranked is Franklin's Nathan Adams ranks 17th in the men's weight throw with a toss of 18.92 meters, Rose-Hulman's Nick Palmer ranks 18th with a pole vault of 4.72 meters and Hanover's distance medley relay team (Veach, Hunter, Hanson, Hedrick) notched a time of 10:22.01 to qualify at 14th in the nation.

On the women's side, Rose-Hulman's Lauren London ranks 14th with a long jump of 5.58 meters and Hanover's Erin Trimpe is tied in the 19th spot with a pole vault of 3.66 meters.

The event will be held at the George M. Smart Center on the campus of Defiance College beginning at 1 p.m. Saturday afternoon. Admission is available for $8 per person and $5 for senior citizens and students as designated for conference championship events. HCAC students will be admitted for free with proper identification. 

Below are the complete men's and women's indoor track and field pre-championship polls along with the Athletes to Watch list for this weekend's championship.

Pre-Championship Polls


Athletes to Watch

Anderson   Ryan Ramsey   Sr.   Greenville, Ohio
    Ian Leatherman   Jr.   Fishers, Ind.
    Clay Meadows   Fr.   Shenandoah, Ind.
    Mariah Murray   Jr.   Indianapolis, Ind.
    Victoria Baver   So.   Garrett, Ind.
    Emily Kelley   Jr.   Indianapolis, Ind.
Bluffton   Noah Judd   Fr.   Columbia City, Ind.
    Brandon James   Fr.   Waynesfield, Ohio
    Connor Bulick   Jr.   Louisville, Ohio
    Alexis Cash   Jr.   Gaines, Mich.
    Bailie Barrington   So.   Waynesfield, Ohio
    Tori Bowen   Jr.   Wapakoneta, Ohio
Defiance   Javier Castillo   Sr.   Nogales, Ariz.
    Gabe Caris   So.   Lambertville, Mich.
    Cody Drumm-Turner   So.   Homer, Mich.
    Meagan Trimpey   So.   Bowling Green, Ohio
    Lisa Maria Markau   Fr.   Germany
    Madi Bowman   Jr.   Eaton, Ohio
Franklin   Clayton Brumfield   Jr.   Greenfield, Ind.
    Nathan Adams   Sr.   Indianapolis, Ind.
    Matt Stienke   Sr.   Mooresville, Ind.
    Kelsey Bowling   Sr.   Osgood, Ind.
    Laura Worthington   Sr.   Cloverdale, Ind.
    Sarah Miller   Jr.   Boggstown, Ind.
Hanover   Reece hunter   So.   Mooresvile, Ind.
    Jacob Hedrick   Sr.   Memphis, Ind.
    Hayden Veach   Jr.   Shelbyville, Ind.
    Kenna Hunter   Jr.   Mooresville, Ind.
    Erin Browning   So.   Greensburg, Ind.
    Erin Trimpe   Sr.   New Palestine, Ind.
MSJ   Drew Stark   Sr.   Cincinnati, Ohio
    Tre'on Taylor   Jr.   Orlando, Fla.
    Cameron Willis   Fr.   Cincinnati, Ohio
    Maria Wates   Sr.   Cincinnati, Ohio
    Kiersten Lux   Jr.   Waldron, Ind.
    Anna Schoster   Jr.   Cincinnati, Ohio
Rose-Hulman   Eric Fiacable   Sr.   Crown Point, Ind.
    Nick Palmer   Sr.   Madison, Ind.
    David Walbring   Sr.   New Carlisle, Ind.
    Lauren London   Sr.   Hurricane, W. Va.
    Kally Morozin   Sr.   Libertyville, Ill.
Transylvania   Jacob Burnam   Fr.   Louisville, Ky.
    Malik Jackson   Sr.   Lexington, Ky.
    Jordan Upton   Fr.   Versailles, Ky.
    Taylor Allen   Fr.   Louisville, Ky.
    Rian Boelter   Jr.   Hebron, Ky.
    Olivia Kee   Sr.   Greenup, Ky.