Rose-Hulman Selected by Coaches to Win HCAC Men's Cross Country Title

Rose-Hulman Selected by Coaches to Win HCAC Men's Cross Country Title

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology's men's cross country team has been selected as the front runner to win the 2018 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference championship. In a poll of the ten HCAC head coaches, the Engineers received 100 total points and ten first place votes. 

Earlham College will strive for its first conference title, as the Quakers totaled 82 points. Hanover College placed third in the poll with 80 points, while Manchester University finished fourth with 67 points. Bluffton University finished fifth with 64 points and was followed by Franklin College (51 points), Anderson University (44), Transylvania University (26), Mount St. Joseph University (21), and Defiance College (15).

Rose-Hulman claimed its third conference title in four years last season at the HCAC cross country championship last fall and returns two runners that earned first-team All-HCAC honors. Senior Kennedy Schneiders (Plymouth, Ind.) finished in ninth place at last year's conference championship for the Engineers. Junior Matthew Stevenot (Hudson, Ohio) placed 12th overall at the conference meet last fall.  The Engineers also return two honorable mention honorees from last fall.  The returning runners will strive to pace the Rose-Hulman men's squad to its fourth cross country HCAC title at the end of October.

The Quakers return three honorable mention All-HCAC selections from last season's third place squad, including the reigning HCAC Freshman of the Year. Sophomore Nate Papachristos (North Plainfield, N.J.) earned a 13th place finish in the conference meet last fall. Earlham also returns sophomores Bineyam Tumbo (Stone Mountain, Ga.) and Noah Scherf (Michigan City, Ind.) who finished 18th and 20th in last year's championship meet, respectively.

Hanover College returns two first-team All-HCAC member from last year's second place team. Junior Hayden Veach (Shelbyville, Ind.) placed second at the 2017 meet, leading all Panthers at the event. Senior Jacob Hedrick (Memphis, Ind.) also earned first-team All-HCAC honors after placing 0.5 seconds behind Veach last fall for a third place finish at the conference championship.

The 2018 HCAC Men's Cross Country Championship will be hosted by Mount St. Joseph University in Shelbyville, Ind. on Saturday, October 27.

The 2018 men's cross country season is set to begin on August 31.

Runners to Watch

Anderson   Jona Odell   Senior   Indianapolis, Ind.
    Ian Leatherman   Junior   Indianapolis, Ind.
    Clayton Wilson   Sophomore   Greencastle, Ind.
Bluffton   Dakota Frost   Junior   Edgerton, Ohio
    Connor Gulick   Junior   St. Louisville, Ohio
    Jonah Eckert   Senior   Terre Haute, Ind.
Defiance   Daren Gies   Senior   Plymouth, Ohio
    Tyler Hines   Sophomore   Cincinnati, Ohio
    Skyler JoHantgen   Freshman   West Unity, Ohio
Earlham    Nate Papachristos   Sophomore   North Plainfield, N.J.
    Noah Scherf   Sophomore   Michigan City, Ind.
    Bineyam Tumbo   Sophomore   Stone Mountain, Ga.
Franklin   Clayton Brumfield   Junior   Greenfield, Ind.
    Blaine Conners   Junior   Franklin, Ind.
    Chris Graham   Sophomore   New Castle, Ind.
Hanover   Andy Vilardo   Sophomore   Bloomington, Ind.
    Jacob Hedrick   Senior   Memphis, Ind.
    Hayden Veach   Junior   Shelbyville, Ind.
MSJ   Chad Mason   Senior   Addyston, Ohio
    Luke Danis   Sophomore   Yellowsprings, Ohio
    Trevor Levi   Freshman   Rising Sun, Ind.
    Cassius Williams   Freshman   Morrow, Ohio
Rose-Hulman   Matthew Stevenot   Junior   Hudson, Ohio
    Kennedy Schneiders   Senior   Plymouth, Ind.
    Ben Hall   Junior   Flagstaff, Ariz.
Transylvania   Jacob Burnam   Freshman   Louisville, Ky.
    Chauncey Longman   Freshman   Fredericksburg, Va.
    Darrel Corn   Sophomore   Ludlow, Ky.