Mount St. Joseph University Set to Host HCAC Cross Country Championships

Mount St. Joseph University Set to Host HCAC Cross Country Championships


INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. --- The HCAC men's and women's cross country championships will take place Saturday, October 27 at Blue River Memorial Park in Shelbyville, Ind. The event will be hosted by Mount St. Joseph University with the women's race beginning at noon and the men's race at 1 p.m.

Rose-Hulman will look to claim its fourth men's conference championship in five years at the event, while the Manchester women will run for a third title in four years. Hanover and Earlham will look to challenge the Engineers on the men's side while Bluffton and Rose-Hulman will look to battle with Manchester on the women's side.

In this year's pre-championship poll Rose-Hulman was picked to win unanimously on the men's side with 10 first place votes and 100 points. Hanover College will strive for its first conference title, as the Panthers totaled 86 points. Earlham College placed third in the poll with 78 points, while Manchester University finished fourth with 72 points. Bluffton University finished fifth with 57 points and was followed by Franklin College (53 points), Anderson University (42), Transylvania University (30), Mount St. Joseph University (19), and Defiance College (13).

Rose-Hulman will strive to claim the top spot as conference champs this weekend after being voted to finish first in the preseason and pre-championship poll.  The Fightin' Engineers have been paced by Matthew Stevenot (Hudson, Ohio) this season. Stevenot led Rose-Hulman all three times this fall with a season best time of 25:48.7.

Hanover's Jacob Hedrick (Memphis, Ind.) will look to lead the Panthers at the conference championship this weekend. The one-time Runner of the Week this season posted his best time at the Jenna Strong Classic placing 23rd with a time of 25:50.6.

On the women's side, Manchester was picked to win the women's conference championship in the pre-championship poll with 92 points and five first place votes. Bluffton University finished in second, collecting 87 points and four first place votes, while Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology placed third in the poll with 83 points. Earlham College finished fourth with 70 points and the final first place vote. The Quakers were followed by Hanover College (64 points), Franklin College (47), Anderson University (44), Transylvania University (27), Mount St. Joseph University (23), and Defiance College (13).

The Manchester women enter Saturday's championship as the favorite to claim the school's seventh women's cross country title. The Spartans have been led by junior Hannah Wappes (Columbia, Ind.) who has claimed Runner of the Week once this season and has a season best time of 22:54.7 at the Oberlin Inter-Regional Rumble.

The Bluffton women's cross country team will look to claim its first HCAC women's cross country championship on Saturday. The Beavers have been led this season by Alexis Cash (Gaines, Mich.), the junior marked her best 6-kilometer time this season 23:00.7 at the Oberlin Inter-Regional Rumble.

Below are the complete men's and women's cross country pre-championship polls along with the Runners to Watch list for this weekend's championship.

Pre-Championship Polls


Runners to Watch

Anderson   Jona Odell   Senior   Indianapolis, Ind.
    Ian Leatherman   Junior   Indianapolis, Ind.
    Clayton Wilson   Sophomore   Greencastle, Ind.
    Tess Wise   Senior   Lynn, Ind.
    Sarah Repp   Senior   Connersville, Ind.
    Rachel Harrison   Senior   Indianapolis, Ind.
Bluffton   Dakota Frost   Junior   Edgerton, Ohio
    Connor Gulick   Junior   St. Louisville, Ohio
    Jonah Eckert   Senior   Terre Haute, Ind.
    Alexis Cash   Junior   Gaines, Mich.
    Jennie Matteson   Senior   Guysville, Ohio
    Kimberly Hetrick   Sophomore   Fremont, Ohio
Defiance   Daren Gies   Senior   Plymouth, Ohio
    Tyler Hines   Sophomore   Cincinnati, Ohio
    Skyler JoHantgen   Freshman   West Unity, Ohio
    Olivia Fett   Senior   Defiance, Ohio
    Kenna Bell   Sophomore   Piqua, Ohio
Earlham    Nate Papachristos   Sophomore   North Plainfield, N.J.
    Noah Scherf   Sophomore   Michigan City, Ind.
    Bineyam Tumbo   Sophomore   Stone Mountain, Ga.
    Ana Sosa-Ebert   Sophomore   Washington, D.C.
    Ellie Haland   Sophomore   Afton, Minn.
    Remy Haggerty   Freshman   Millburn, N.J.
Franklin   Clayton Brumfield   Junior   Greenfield, Ind.
    Blaine Conners   Junior   Franklin, Ind.
    Chris Graham   Sophomore   New Castle, Ind.
    Krista Robinson   Sophomore   Greenwood, Ind.
    Grace Esterline   Sophomore   Brownsburg, Ind.
    Meghan Yencer   Senior   Poneto, Ind.
Hanover   Cooper Hanson   Freshman   Greenfield, Ind.
    Jacob Hedrick   Senior   Memphis, Ind.
    Hayden Veach   Junior   Shelbyville, Ind.
    Arig Tong   Freshman   Columbus, Ind.
    Ariel Barlow   Junior   Francesville, Ind
    Amanda Stump   Senior   Garrett, Ind.
Manchester   Lucas Fontanez   Sophomore   Lowell, Ind.
    Sam Barnard   Junior   Indianapolis, Ind.
    Daniel Baker   Junior   Okemos, Mich.
    Hannah Wappes   Junior   Columbia City, Ind.
    Samina Qureshi   Senior   Columbia City, Ind.
    Kelsey Tyler   Freshman   Rochester, Ind.
MSJ   Matthew Bruner   Sophomore   Dillsboro, Ind.
    Luke Danis   Sophomore   Yellowsprings, Ohio
    Trevor Levi   Freshman   Rising Sun, Ind.
    Maria Waters   Senior   Cincinnati, Ohio
Rose-Hulman   Matthew Stevenot   Junior   Hudson, Ohio
    Nolan Gross   Junior   Nashville, Tenn.
    Nathan Ciriacks   Junior   Green Bay, Wis.
    Mary Petersen   Junior   Zionsville, Ind.
    Kally Morozin   Senior   Libertyville, Ill.
    Kaia Johnson   Freshman   Brighton Mich.
Transylvania   Jacob Burnam   Freshman   Louisville, Ky.
    Chauncey Longman   Freshman   Fredericksburg, Va.
    Darrel Corn   Sophomore   Ludlow, Ky.
    Rebecca Facktor   Senior   Louisville, Ky.
    Cassidy Kelien   Freshman   Cincinnati, Ohio
    Josie Cunningham   Sophomore   Lexington, Ky.