Franklin’s Sarah Condra Named HCAC Women’s Basketball MVP

Franklin’s Sarah Condra Named HCAC Women’s Basketball MVP

GREENWOOD, IN - Franklin College's Sarah Condra (Whiteland, Ind./H.S.) has been selected as the 2009-2010 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Women's Basketball Most Valuable Player, headlining the 12-member All-HCAC team.

Condra, a sophomore guard for the Grizzlies, guided her team to a HCAC title and the school's third conference tournament championship.  She led the league in scoring, averaging 16.8 points per game and paced the league in three-point field goal percentage (43.0%) during conference play.  Condra also ranked among the HCAC leaders in assists (3.25 pg), free throw percentage (76.8%), steals (1.75 pg), and three-point field goals made (2.5 pg) during the league schedule. 

Her efforts enabled the Grizzlies to finish the conference season with a 13-3 record and earn Franklin's sixth berth into the NCAA Division III women's basketball tournament.  Franklin stands 21-6 overall this season and will face No. 3 ranked Illinois Wesleyan in the first round of the NCAA tournament Friday evening.

Anderson University's Courtney Prater (Lapel, Ind./H.S.) has been named the 2009-2010 HCAC Freshman of the Year.  Prater, a forward for the Ravens, helped guide her team to a 6-10 mark in conference play and earn Anderson a berth into the HCAC tournament.  The Ravens finished tied for fifth in the conference standings with Manchester.  During the conference season, Prater averaged 5.7 points and 6.2 rebounds per game, while shooting 50.9% from the field.

Transylvania's Greg Todd has been awarded the HCAC Coach of the Year award for the second consecutive year.  The fourth-year head coach led the Pioneers to their third HCAC women's basketball championship, sharing the title with Franklin.  Transy ended the season with a 19-7 record overall after falling to Hanover in the HCAC tournament semifinals.

Condra was one of 12 players named to the All-HCAC team. There are four seniors, six juniors, and two sophomores on the team this season. The eight-member Honorable Mention All-HCAC team and All-Freshman team have also been named.  A complete list of the recipients of conference awards follow:


HCAC Awards:

Player of the Year:  Sarah Condra, Franklin, So., G

Freshman of the Year:  Courtney Prater, Anderson, F

Coach of the Year:  Greg Todd, Transylvania




Tiffany Bowsher, Anderson, Sr., F

Kim Miller, Bluffton, Jr., F

Mandie White, Defiance, Sr., C

Shavonda Price, Defiance, So., G

Sarah Condra, Franklin, So., G

Heather Harper, Franklin, Sr., C

Molly Martin, Hanover, Jr., C

Holly Vogel, Hanover, Jr., F

Donna Marsh, Rose-Hulman, Jr., C

Brittany Henderlight, Transylvania, Sr., G

Holly Milburn, Transylvania, Jr., F

Olivia Akridge, Transylvania, Jr., G


Honorable Mention All-HCAC:

Ginny Buckingham, Bluffton, Sr., F

Tasha Stucke, Defiance, Jr., G

Monica Planalp, Franklin, Jr., G

Torin Franz, Hanover, Jr., F

Kailey Honn, Manchester, Jr., C

Kat O'Neill, Mount St. Joseph, Jr., G

Carolyn Holt, Mount St. Joseph, Jr., F

Alisa Dickerson, Rose-Hulman, So., F


All-Freshman Team:

Amy Wuestefeld, Anderson, Fr., G

Courtney Prater, Anderson, Fr., F

Jessica Prewett, Franklin, Fr., C

Melissa Eltzroth, Manchester, Fr., G

Erin Davey, Rose-Hulman, Fr., F