Hanover’s Molly Martin Named HCAC Women’s Basketball MVP

Hanover’s Molly Martin Named HCAC Women’s Basketball MVP

GREENWOOD, IN – Hanover College’s Molly Martin (Terre Haute, Ind./North) has been selected as the 2010-2011 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Women’s Basketball Most Valuable Player, headlining the 12-member All-HCAC team.

Martin, a senior center for the Panthers, guided her team to a HCAC title and the school’s first HCAC tournament championship.  She ranked second in the league in scoring, averaging 17.5 points per game and ranked third in rebounding (8.9 rpg) during conference play.  Martin also ranked among the HCAC leaders in field goal percentage (54.5%) and blocks (1.2 bpg) during the league schedule.

Her efforts enabled the Panthers to finish the conference season with a 17-1 record and earn Hanover’s second berth into the NCAA Division III women’s basketball tournament.  No. 25 ranked Hanover stands a school-record 25-1 overall this season and will face No. 6 ranked Chicago in the first round of the NCAA tournament Friday evening.

Defiance College’s Erica King (Pettisville, Ohio/H.S.) has been named the 2010-2011 HCAC Freshman of the Year.  King, a guard for the Yellow Jackets, helped guide her team to a 10-8 mark in conference play and earn Defiance a berth into the HCAC tournament.  The Jackets finished fifth in the conference standings and earned the No. 5 seed.  During the conference season, King averaged 10.8 points and 4.4 rebounds per game, while shooting 43.9% from behind the arc.

Hanover’s Molly Jones has been awarded the HCAC Coach of the Year award for the first time in her career.  The 13-year head coach led the Panthers to their first HCAC women’s basketball championship and a school record for wins in a season.  Hanover stands 25-1 on the year and will face No. 6 ranked Chicago in the first round of the NCAA tournament Friday evening in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Martin was one of 12 players named to the All-HCAC team. There are nine seniors, two juniors, and one sophomore on the team this season. The 14-member Honorable Mention All-HCAC team and All-Freshman team have also been named.  A complete list of the recipients of conference awards follow:


HCAC Awards:

Player of the Year:  Molly Martin, Hanover, Sr., C

Freshman of the Year:  Erica King, Defiance, G

Coach of the Year:  Molly Jones, Hanover



Ellen Thompson, Anderson, Sr., F

Kim Miller, Bluffton, Sr., F

Tasha Stucke, Defiance, Sr., G

Sarah Condra, Franklin, Jr., G

Molly Martin, Hanover, Sr., C

Torin Franz, Hanover, Sr., G

Holly Vogel, Hanover, Sr., F

Melissa Eltzroth, Manchester, So., G

Donna Marsh, Rose-Hulman, Sr., C

Alisa Dickerson, Rose-Hulman, Jr., G

Holly Milburn, Transylvania, Sr., F

Olivia Akridge, Transylvania, Sr., G


Honorable Mention All-HCAC:

Courtney Prater, Anderson, So., C

Brittany Stegmaier, Bluffton, Jr., G

Molly Bateman, Defiance, Sr., G

Bria Sneed, Earlham, Fr., G

Monica Planalp, Franklin, Sr., G

Traci Lippold, Franklin, Sr., G

Brittney Wilson, Franklin, Sr., G

Chelle Bentz, Hanover, Sr., G

Kelsey DeMott, Manchester, Sr., F

Ashley Poe, Manchester, Jr., G

Carolyn Holt, Mount St. Joseph, Sr., F

Kat O’Neill, Mount St. Joseph, Sr., G

Abby LaRosa, Mount St. Joseph, Sr., G

Shayla Black, Transylvania, Sr., G


All-Freshman Team:

Erica King, Defiance, Fr., G

Bria Sneed, Earlham, Fr., G

Krista Schott, Franklin, Fr., F

Erynn Meiklejohn, Manchester, Fr., F

Heather Finnell, Rose-Hulman, Fr., G