Franklin’s Sarah Condra Named HCAC Women’s Basketball MVP

GREENWOOD, IN – Franklin College’s Sarah Condra (Nineveh, Ind./Whiteland) has been selected as the 2011-2012 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Women’s Basketball Most Valuable Player, headlining the 12-member All-HCAC team.

Condra, a senior guard for the Grizzlies, guided her team to a HCAC title and the school’s fourth HCAC tournament championship.  She ranked second in the league in scoring, averaging 18.2 points per game and ranked ninth in rebounding (6.0 rpg) during conference play.  Condra also ranked among the HCAC leaders in three point field goal percentage (34.1%) and blocks (30) during the league schedule.

Her efforts enabled the Grizzlies to finish the conference season with a 16-2 record and earn Franklin’s seventh berth into the NCAA Division III women’s basketball tournament.  No. 14 ranked Franklin stands a school-record 25-2 overall this season and will face No. 11 ranked Wis.-Stevens Point in the first round of the NCAA tournament Friday evening.

Transylvania University’s Nicole Coffman (Liberty, Ky./Casey Co.) has been named the 2011-2012 HCAC Freshman of the Year.  Coffman, a guard for the Pioneers, helped guide her team to an 11-7 mark in conference play and earn Transy a berth into the HCAC tournament.  The Pioneers finished fourth in the conference standings and earned the No. 4 seed.  During the conference season, Coffman averaged 15.2 points and 3.8 rebounds per game, while shooting 83.0% from the free throw line.

Hanover’s Molly Jones has been awarded the HCAC Coach of the Year award for the second straight season.  The 14-year head coach led the Panthers to a share of their second HCAC women’s basketball championship, finishing 16-2 in league play.  Hanover finished the season 21-5 overall, ending the season with a 64-44 setback to Franklin in the HCAC tournament title game.

Condra and Coffman were two of 12 players named to the All-HCAC team. There are three seniors, five juniors, two sophomores, and two freshmen on the team this season. The 10-member Honorable Mention All-HCAC team, All-Freshman team, and All-Sportsmanship team have also been named.  A complete list of the recipients of conference awards follow:


HCAC Awards:

Player of the Year:  Sarah Condra, Franklin, Sr., G

Freshman of the Year:  Nicole Coffman, Transylvania, G

Coach of the Year:  Molly Jones, Hanover



Amy Wuestefeld, Anderson, Jr., G

Lauren Hutton, Bluffton, Jr., F

Erica King, Defiance, So., G

Kim Comden, Defiance, Jr., C

Sarah Condra, Franklin, Sr., G

Jessica Prewett, Franklin, Jr., C

Courtney Prater, Hanover, Jr., F

Alicia Hopkins, Hanover, Fr., G

Erynn Meiklejohn, Manchester, So., F

Laine Mello, Manchester, Sr., F

Alisa Dickerson, Rose-Hulman, Sr., F

Nicole Coffman, Transylvania, Fr., G


Honorable Mention All-HCAC:

Nikki Darrett, Earlham, Sr., G

Bria Sneed, Earlham, So., G

Krista Beaman, Franklin, So., F

Kasey Dollens, Franklin, Sr., F

Krista Schott, Franklin, So., G

Abbey Schmahl, Hanover, Sr., G

Kailey Honn, Manchester, Sr., F

Katie Jo Collins, Mount St. Joseph, Sr., F

Courtney Cole, Mount St. Joseph, Sr., G

Jariana Gillespie, Transylvania, Fr., G


All-Freshman Team:

Alicia Hopkins, Hanover, Fr., G

Sheree Williams, Rose-Hulman, Fr., G

Nicole Coffman, Transylvania, Fr., G

Alex McKenzie, Transylvania, Fr., F

Jariana Gillespie, Transylvania, Fr., G


All-Sportsmanship Team:

Amy Wuestefeld, Anderson, Jr., G

Alicia Amis, Bluffton, Sr., G

Brooke Zachrich, Defiance, Sr., F

Princess Darnell, Earlham, Sr., G

Krista Beaman, Franklin, So., F

Abbey Schmahl, Hanover, Sr., G

Alexandra Starkey, Manchester, Sr., G

Whitney Mueller, Mount St. Joseph, Jr., G

Kelsey Ploof, Rose-Hulman, So., F

Terra Lucas, Transylvania, Jr., F