Franklin College Set to Host HCAC Women’s Golf Championships

Franklin College Set to Host HCAC Women’s Golf Championships

Championship Program (click here)

Championship Website (click here)

Tee Times (click here)

Scoring Average Leaders (click here)

GREENWOOD, IN – The 2012 HCAC women’s golf fall season will come to a close this weekend, as the women hit the links on Saturday and Sunday to determine the conference champion.  The winner of this weekend’s tournament will receive the conference’s automatic qualifier into the NCAA Division III Women’s Golf Championship held May 14-17 in Destin, Florida.

This year’s HCAC tournament will be hosted by Franklin and held at the 5,828 yard par 72 Legends Golf Club in Franklin, Indiana.

Franklin enters the tournament as the defending league champion, earning the title in 2011.  The Grizzlies won the championship by 24 strokes over second place Transylvania, firing a two-day total of 676.  FC graduated 2011 medalist Brittany Stephens and will look to Avery Brown (Greenfield, Ind./Greenfield-Central) to lead the charge.  Brown finished second last fall, carding rounds of 85 and 82.  Brown holds the Grizzlies best scoring average this fall (82.5) and will look to challenge for the title this weekend.  FC’s five golfers all rank in the top 10 of the conference scoring leaders this season.

Hanover will strive to challenge the hosts for the league crown.  The Panthers earned the title in 2010 and have four golfers ranking in the top 15.  On September 30, Hanover finished second to the Grizzlies at the Franklin Invitational at the Legends Golf Club. This fall, sophomore Brooke McKay (Carmel, Ind./H.S.) leads the HCAC in scoring average, boasting a 79.9 stroke per round average.  Senior Becky Roberts (Avon, Ind./H.S.) ranks fourth in the conference, averaging a round of 83.7.

Anderson University’s Krista Zurcher (Leesburg, Ind./Wawasee) will look to challenge for the medalist crown over the weekend.  The sophomore ranks second in scoring average (81.6) and earned the individual crown at the Franklin Invitational in late September.

The top eight finishers after the two rounds are complete will earn All-HCAC honors.  The top freshman finisher after Sunday’s second round will receive the Freshman of the Year award.  Action will get underway Saturday and Sunday morning at 11:00 AM.