Franklin Edges Hanover for HCAC Women’s Golf Title

Franklin Edges Hanover for HCAC Women’s Golf Title

Final Results

Photo Gallery

FRANKLIN, IN – Franklin College’s women’s golf team held off Hanover by 18 strokes Sunday afternoon to claim the school’s 13th HCAC women’s golf title and the conference’s automatic qualifier to the NCAA championships to be held in May.  The Grizzlies totaled a 696 on the team leader board, finishing 18 strokes ahead of second place Hanover, who finished with a 714 at the Legends Golf Club in Franklin, Indiana.

Franklin’s Sarah Craven (Greenwood, Ind./Whiteland) led the Grizzlies with a second place finish, holding off teammate Avery Brown (Greenfield, Ind./Central) by a single stroke.  Craven carded a two-round total of 169, while Brown finished with a 170.

Franklin College placed three members on the All-HCAC team.  Christie Cates (Indianapolis, Ind./Cathedral) joined Craven and Brown on the squad, finishing fifth overall with a two-day total of 173.  Cates also earned Freshman of the Year honors for her efforts.

The second place Panthers also placed three members on the All-HCAC team.  Sophomore Brooke McKay (Carmel, Ind./H.S.) earned medalist and HCAC Most Valuable Player honors for the first time.  McKay carded rounds of 83 and 84 to capture the individual title.  Freshman Brittany Mosteller (Indianapolis, Ind./Ben Davis) placed sixth overall (178), while Becky Roberts (Avon, Ind./H.S.) finished in a tie for eighth (183)

Joining McKay, Craven, Brown, Cates, Mosteller, and Roberts on the All-HCAC team by virtue of finishing in the top eight of the individual standings was Transylvania’s Jerra Kelsey (Paintsville, Ky./H.S.), Rose-Hulman’s Hayley Vonder Haar (Highland, Ill./H.S.) and Anderson’s Krista Zurcher (Leesburg, Ind./Wawasee)

Rose-Hulman placed third at the tournament with a total score of 747. Transylvania was awarded fourth place on Sunday, shooting a 754.  Manchester, Mount St. Joseph, and Defiance rounded out the team standings, firing a 767, 770, and 777 respectively.  Anderson did not post a team score.

Franklin head coach Roger Lundy was also honored by being named the HCAC Coach of the Year for the fifth time as a head coach. 

Most Valuable Player – Brooke McKay, Hanover College

Freshman of the Year – Christie Cates, Franklin College

Coach of the Year – Roger Lundy, Franklin College


Team Standings


696 (336-360)


714 (347-367)


747 (361-386)


754 (368-386)


767 (371-396)

Mount St. Joseph

770 (362-408)


777 (381-396)


No Team Score



Brooke McKay, HC

167 (83-84)

Sarah Craven, FC

169 (80-89)

Avery Brown, FC

170 (81-89)

Jerra Kelsey, TU

171 (83-88)

Christie Cates, FC

173 (86-87)

Brittany Mosteller, HC

178 (87-91)

Hayley Vonder Haar, RHIT

179 (85-94)

Becky Roberts, HC

183 (85-98)

Krista Zurcher, AU

183 (87-96)

All- Sportsmanship Team

Krista Zurcher, Anderson

Tara Miller, Defiance

Melissa Kerfoot, Franklin

Brooke McKay, Hanover

Carly Clock, Manchester

Whitney Mueller, Mount St. Joseph

Jaclyn Smith, Rose-Hulman

Alyssa Thompson, Transylvania