Hanover Claims School’s Third HCAC Women’s Golf Title

Hanover Claims School’s Third HCAC Women’s Golf Title

WABASH, IN – Hanover College’s women’s golf team held off Rose-Hulman by 30 strokes Sunday afternoon to claim the school’s third HCAC women’s golf title and the conference’s automatic qualifier to the NCAA championships to be held in May.  The Panthers totaled a HCAC-record 643 on the team leader board, finishing ahead of second place Rose-Hulman, who finished with a 673 at Honeywell Golf Course in Wabash, Indiana.

Hanover’s Erika Shepherd (Jeffersonville, Ind./H.S.) earned medalist honors for the first time, earning HCAC Most Valuable Player accolades.  Shepherd tied with teammate Brooke McKay (Carmel, Ind./H.S.) with a two-round total of 154, firing a pair of 77’s each round.  Shepherd defeated McKay on the first playoff hole to win MVP honors. 

Hanover College placed one other player on the All-HCAC team.  Devan Smith (Depauw, Ind./North Harrison) finished in a tie for fifth in the standings with a two-round total of 166.

Second place Rose-Hulman placed two members on the All-HCAC team.  Freshman Ashton Foushee (Glasgow, Ky./H.S.) earned HCAC Freshman of the Year honors, carding rounds of 80 and 86 to finish in a tie for fifth overall.  Sophomore Peem Chanrotchanaphan (Chiang Mai, Thailand/Grace International) placed in a tie for seventh overall will a two-round total of 167.

Joining Shepherd, McKay, Smith, Foushee, and Chanrotchanaphan on the All-HCAC team by virtue of finishing in the top eight of the individual standings was Franklin’s Sarah Craven (Greenwood, Ind./Whiteland) and  Paige Lundy (Greenwood, Ind./Whiteland), and Transylvania’s Jerra Kelsey (Paintsville, Ky./H.S.)

Franklin College placed third at the tournament with a total score of 675. Transylvania was awarded fourth place on Sunday, shooting a 715.  Manchester, Mount St. Joseph, and Defiance rounded out the team standings, firing a 760, 821, and 839 respectively.  Anderson did not post a team score.

Hanover head coach Wayne Perry was also honored by being named the HCAC Coach of the Year for the third time as a head coach. 


Most Valuable Player – Erika Shepherd, Hanover College

Freshman of the Year – Ashton Foushee, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology

Coach of the Year – Wayne Perry, Hanover College

Team Standings


643 (329-314)


673 (339-334)


675 (341-334)


715 (360-355)


760 (387-373)

Mount St. Joseph

821 (420-401)


839 (428-411)


No Team Score


Erika Shepherd, HC

154 (77-77)

Brooke McKay, HC

154 (77-77)

Sarah Craven, FC

162 (81-81)

Jerra Kelsey, TU

165 (85-80)

Devan Smith, HC

166 (91-75)

Ashton Foushee, RHIT

166 (80-86)

Peem Chanrotchanaphan, RHIT

167 (86-81)

Paige Lundy, FC

167 (83-84)

All- Sportsmanship Team

Krista Zurcher, Sr., Anderson

Kayla Uscilowski, Sr., Defiance

Sarah Craven, Sr., Franklin

Devan Smith, So., Hanover

Kaitlin Powers, Fr., Manchester

Sara Treash, Jr., Mount St. Joseph

Chloe LaVelle, Jr., Rose-Hulman

Alyssa Thompson, Sr., Transylvania