Hanover Claims School’s Fourth HCAC Women’s Golf Title

Hanover Claims School’s Fourth HCAC Women’s Golf Title

Final Results

NORTH BEND, OH Hanover College’s women’s golf team held off Rose-Hulman by 14 strokes Sunday afternoon to claim the school’s fourth HCAC women’s golf title and the conference’s automatic qualifier to the NCAA championships to be held in May.  The Panthers totaled a two-round 693 on the team leader board, finishing ahead of second place Rose-Hulman, who finished with a 707 at Aston Oaks Golf Club in North Bend, Ohio.

Hanover’s Erika Shepherd (Jeffersonville, Ind./H.S.) earned medalist honors for the second time, earning HCAC Most Valuable Player accolades.  Shepherd carded rounds of 81 and 80 to earn the honor, finishing nine strokes ahead of the next finisher. 

Hanover College placed two other players on the All-HCAC team.  Ellen Wuerch (Fortville, Ind./Mt. Vernon) finished fifth in the standings with a two-round total of 174, while Devan Smith (Depauw, Ind./North Harrison) finished eighth with a two-round total of 178.

Second place Rose-Hulman placed two members on the All-HCAC team.  Sophomore Ashton Foushee (Glasgow, Ky./H.S.) carded rounds of 83 and 87 to finish second overall.  Hayley Vonder Haar (Highland, Ill./H.S.) placed fourth overall will a two-round total of 173.

Joining Shepherd, Wuerch, Smith, Foushee, and Vonder Haar on the All-HCAC team by virtue of finishing in the top eight of the individual standings was Franklin’s Paige Lundy (Greenwood, Ind./Whiteland) and Hayley Tiberghein (Fairfield, Ohio/H.S.), and Transylvania’s Jenna Soderling  (Central City, Ky./Muhlenberg Co.)

Soderling also earned the HCAC Freshman of the Year award for her efforts.

Franklin College placed third at the tournament with a total score of 722. Manchester was awarded fourth place on Sunday, shooting a 757.  Transylvania, Defiance, and Anderson rounded out the team standings, firing a 775, 869, and 900 respectively.  Mount St. Joseph did not post a team score.

Hanover head coach Wayne Perry was also honored by being named the HCAC Coach of the Year for the fourth time as a head coach. 

Most Valuable Player – Erika Shepherd, Hanover College

Freshman of the Year – Jenna Soderling, Transylvania University

Coach of the Year – Wayne Perry, Hanover College

Team Standings


693 (344-349)


707 (356-351)


722 (361-361)


757 (386-371)


775 (393-382)


869 (434-435)


900 (438-462)

Mount St. Joseph

No Team Score


Erika Shepherd, HC

161 (81-80)

Ashton Foushee, RHIT

170 (83-87)

Paige Lundy, FC

171 (85-86)

Hayley Vonder Haar, RHIT

173 (87-86)

Ellen Wuerch, HC

174 (86-88)

Hayley Tiberghein, FC

176 (86-90)

Jenna Soderling, TU

176 (88-88)

Devan Smith, HC

178 (87-91)

All- Sportsmanship Team

Madeline Diniz, So., Anderson

Mallory Galloway, Jr., Defiance

Hayley Tiberghein, Sr., Franklin

Brittany Mosteller, Sr., Hanover

Hayleigh Fernandez, Fr., Manchester

Sarah Banfill, Jr., Mount St. Joseph

Amanda Krauss, Jr., Rose-Hulman

Kim Kasama, Sr., Transylvania