Coaches Tab Hanover to Win HCAC Women's Tennis Championship

Coaches Tab Hanover to Win HCAC Women's Tennis Championship

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Hanover College's women's tennis team has been selected as the front runner to win the 2018 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference championship. In a poll of the nine HCAC head coaches, the Panthers received a total of 89 points and eight first place votes.

Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology placed second in the poll with 74 points and the final first place vote, while Franklin College is picked to finish third in the conference standings with 73 points.  Transylvania University (56 points), Earlham College (50), Manchester University (49), Anderson University (40), Defiance College (32), and Mount St. Joseph University (23) round out the poll.

The Panthers are coming off a 16-6 season and a perfect 7-0 conference record in 2017. Hanover beat Franklin 5-1 to earn last season's HCAC Tournament crown and the Panthers made its first appearance in the second round of the NCAA Tournament before falling to Emory 5-0.

Head coach Eric LaRue returns three first-team All-HCAC selections along with the reigning HCAC Freshman of the Year to the Panthers' lineup this fall.  Junior Meghan Farrell (Indianapolis, Ind.) notched a 7-0 record at doubles during conference play last fall, while adding a 3-4 mark at singles. Junior Cami Jones (Richmond, Ind.) also earned a first-team selection after posting a 5-2 record at No. 2 singles and a 7-0 mark at No. 2 doubles. Senior Susan Winternheimer (Indianapolis, Ind.) posted a 7-0 record in doubles and singles play last season. Last year's HCAC Freshman of the Year, Haley Parker (Leo, Ind.), returns for the Panthers after finishing her freshman campaign with a 6-1 singles and 7-0 doubles record.

Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology finished third in the HCAC standings last fall with a 5-2 mark in league play.  The Fightin' Engineers return three first-team All-HCAC selections from a year ago.  Sophomore Fanny-Jane Banda (Trilport, France) earned first-team honors after finishing 6-1 in league singles matches and 4-2 at doubles during her freshman season. Juniors Naomi Bhagat (Waukesha, Wis.) and Anna Thompson (Anderson, S.C.) were also first-team selections last fall. Bhagat went 7-0 in No. 3 singles last season, and Thompson went 5-2 at No. 1 singles during the conference season. 

Franklin College finished second in the HCAC standings, finishing 6-1 in league play.  The Grizzlies return two first-team All-HCAC member to the court this fall. Senior Karen Dringenburg (Seymour, Ind.) finished 5-1 at No. 1 singles and 5-1 at No. 1 doubles in league play. Joining Dringenburg as a first-team selection is senior Holyn Eldridge (Goshen, Ind.). Eldridge finished 4-0 in league play at singles and 2-1 at No. 2 doubles.

The 2018 women's tennis season is set to begin on August 31.

Players to Watch

Anderson     Anna Creech     Freshman     Richmond, Ind.
      Cassie Weyker     Freshman     Frankfort, Ill.
      Abigail Kirkman     Senior     Martinsville, Ind.
Defiance     Hannah Hesterman     Senior     Archbold, Ohio
      AJ Breneman     Sophomore     Bryan, Ohio
      Cayla Walker     Senior     Archbold, Ohio
Earlham     Yunjoo Shin     Senior     Seould, South Korea
      Anna Hahn     Freshman     Fribourg, Switzerland
      Abby Stewart     Freshman     Richmond, Ind.
      Abigail Smith     Freshman     Franklin, Ind.
Franklin     Karen Dringenburg     Senior     Seymour, Ind.
      Holyn Eldridge     Senior     Goshen, Ind.
      Alexa Schofner     Senior     Edinburgh, Ind.
Hanover     Susie Winternheimer     Senior     Indianapolis, Ind.
      Meghan Farrell     Junior     Indianapolis, Ind.
      Cami Jones     Junior     Richmond, Ind.
Manchester     Karly Eichenauer     Sophomore     North Manchester, Ind.
MSJ     Hannah Broermann     Junior     Okeana, Ohio
      Jessica Berger     Sophomore     Milan, Ind.
      Blake Nelson     Junior     Cincinnati, Ohio
Rose-Hulman     Naomi Bhagat     Junior     Waukesha, Wis.
      Fanny-Jane Banda     Sophomore     Trilport, France
      Linde Schaffer     Senior     Inner Grove Heights, Minn.
      Anna Thompson     Junior     Anderson, S.C.
Transylvania     Kearstin Bruther     Senior     Hanover, Ind.
      Merrick Irwin     Junior     Lexington, Ky.
      Madison Campbell     Sophomore     Lexington, Ky.
      Reagan Jobe     Sophomore     Versailles, Ky.