Franklin’s Waterman, Rose’s Evans Earn HCAC Women’s Indoor Track & Field Honors

Franklin’s Waterman, Rose’s Evans Earn HCAC Women’s Indoor Track & Field Honors

GREENWOOD, IN – Franklin College’s Heather Waterman (Shelbyville, Ind./Morristown) and Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology’s Liz Evans (Bicknell, Ind./North Knox) have been named 2011 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Indoor Track Athlete of the Year and Field Athlete of the Year, respectively. Waterman led the Grizzlies to a second place finish in the first ever HCAC women’s indoor track and field meet, while Evans helped the Engineers earn the title in the inaugural event held at Anderson University on February 19.

Waterman, a senior for Franklin, won two events at the indoor championships and finished fourth in another.  She won the mile run in a first place time of 5:06.39 and the 5,000-meter run in 18:51.86, while finishing fourth in the 800-meters (2:27.81).  Waterman has also earned the HCAC Track Athlete of the Year at the past two outdoor championships.

Evans, a sophomore on the Rose squad, claimed a first and fourth place finish at the meet to help the Engineers earn the team title.  The sophomore won the high jump with a leap of 1.71 meters and placed fourth in the long jump with a jump of 4.82 meters.

Also receiving recognition for her efforts at the meet is Rose-Hulman’s Erin Cox (West Harrison, Ind./Franklin Co.). Cox earned the Freshman Athlete of the Year award following the meet after her eventful afternoon.  The freshman placed first in the 200-meter dash with a time of 26.99 and was also a member of the first place 800-meter and 1,600-meter relay squads.  Cox also registered a third place finish in the high jump (1.55 meters).

Rose-Hulman’s Larry Cole was named the HCAC Coach of the Year after leading the Engineers to the team title. Cole led RHIT to their first ever women’s indoor or outdoor track and field conference championship in program history, garnering 117 points to hold off second place Franklin (105.5 points).




Most Outstanding Female Track Athlete:  Heather Waterman, Franklin College

Most Outstanding Female Field Athlete:  Liz Evans, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology

Most Outstanding Freshman Female Athlete:  Erin Cox, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology

Coach of the Year:  Larry Cole, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology

All-HCAC (Event Winners)

Alex Friske, Fr., Anderson

Emily Radke, Fr., Anderson

Ramona Hemmings, Sr., Earlham

Heather Waterman, Sr., Franklin

Kerri Kinker, Sr., Franklin

Andrea Thomas, Sr., Hanover

Rachel Moreland, Jr., Hanover

Sara Lucas, Jr., Hanover

Shawna McLetchie, Sr., Hanover

Cary Menifee, Fr., Hanover

Jessi Bremer, Sr., Manchester

Creasy Clauser, So., Rose-Hulman

Erin Cox, Fr., Rose-Hulman

Liz Evans, So., Rose-Hulman

Tanya Colonna, So., Rose-Hulman

Aleksandra Kampa, Jr., Rose-Hulman

Gloria Boxell, So., Rose-Hulman

Abby Sowers, So., Rose-Hulman

Christina Moravec, Fr., Rose-Hulman

Katherine Moravec, Fr., Rose-Hulman

Honorable Mention All-HCAC (Athlete must accumulate 16 points at HCAC Championships)

Ashlyn Howell, So., Defiance