Franklin’s Waterman, RHIT’s Evans Earn HCAC Women’s Track & Field Honors

Franklin’s Waterman, RHIT’s Evans Earn HCAC Women’s Track & Field Honors

GREENWOOD, IN – Franklin College’s Heather Waterman (Shelbyville, Ind./Morristown) and Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology’s Liz Evans (Bicknell, Ind./North Knox) have been named 2011 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Track Athlete of the Year and Field Athlete of the Year, respectively. Waterman led the Grizzlies to a third place finish at the meet, while Evans helped the Engineers place fifth at the meet held at Hanover College on April 29-30.

Waterman, a senior for the Grizzlies, won three events at the HCAC Championships. She won the 1,500-meter run in a conference record time of 4:35.75 and the 5,000-meter run in 18:21.79, while also finishing first in the 10,000-meters (39:36.85).  Waterman was also named Outdoor Track Athlete of the Year following the 2009 and 2010 meet.

Evans, a sophomore on the Rose squad, claimed three first place finishes at the meet helping the Engineers to a fifth place finish.  The sophomore won the high jump with a HCAC record leap of 1.71 meters and claimed first in the long jump (5.26 meters) and triple jump (10.5 meters). 

Also receiving recognition for her efforts at the meet is Hanover’s Jane Burnell (Speedway, Ind./H.S.).  The freshman earned the Freshman Athlete of the Year award after leading the Panthers to the schools first ever women’s Track and Field championship.  Burnell won both the 100-meter and 200-meter dashes with times of 13.10 and 26.61.

Hanover’s Josh Payne was named the HCAC Coach of the Year after leading the Panthers to the team title. Payne led HC to their first ever women’s track and field conference championship, garnering 142 points to hold off second place Defiance (125 points).

Most Outstanding Female Track Athlete:  Heather Waterman, Franklin College

Most Outstanding Female Field Athlete:  Liz Evans, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology

Most Outstanding Freshman Female Athlete: Jane Burnell, Hanover College

Coach of the Year:  Josh Payne, Hanover College

All-HCAC (Event Winners)

Alex Friske, Fr., Anderson

Candace DeLong, Jr., Anderson

Emily Radke, Fr., Anderson

Megan Neal, Jr., Bluffton

Kim Bingley, Fr., Defiance

Natasha Norman, So., Earlham

Heather Waterman, Sr., Franklin

Jane Burnell, Fr., Hanover

Lexi Vincz, So., Hanover

Julie Miller, So., Hanover

Shawna McLetchie, Sr., Hanover

Jessica Bremer, Sr., Manchester

Emily Ballinger, Sr., Manchester

Liz Evans, So., Rose-Hulman

Gloria Boxell, So., Rose-Hulman

Erin Cox, Fr., Rose-Hulman

Abby Sowers, So., Rose-Hulman


Honorable Mention All-HCAC (Athlete must accumulate 16 points at HCAC Championships)

Kaitlin Switzer, Sr., Defiance

Kerri Kinker, So., Franklin

Brianne Steppe, So., Franklin

Amanda Owen, So., Franklin

Megan Miller, Sr., Manchester

Creasy Clauser, So., Rose-Hulman