Franklin’s Murdock, RHIT’s Evans Earn HCAC Women’s Track & Field Honors

Franklin’s Murdock, RHIT’s Evans Earn HCAC  Women’s Track & Field Honors


GREENWOOD, IN – Franklin College’s Anna Murdock (Trafalgar, Ind./Indian Creek) and Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology’s Liz Evans (Bicknell, Ind./North Knox) have been named 2013 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Outdoor Track Athlete of the Year and Field Athlete of the Year, respectively. Murdock led the Grizzlies to a second place finish at the meet, while Evans helped the Engineers place fifth at the meet held at Manchester University on April 26-27.

Murdock, a sophomore for the Grizzlies, won three events at the HCAC Championships. She won the 800-meter dash with a HCAC record time of 2:15.65 and the 1,500-meter run in 4:48.04 seconds.  Murdock was also a member of FC’s first place 4-x-400-meter relay team, who captured the title in a HCAC record time of 4:00.07. 

Evans, a senior on the Rose squad, claimed two first place finishes at the meet to pace the Engineers’ fifth place finish.  The senior won the high jump with a HCAC record leap of 1.79 meters and claimed first in the long jump with a mark of 5.44 meters.  Evans also placed third in the triple jump at the meet. 

Also receiving recognition for her efforts at the meet is Hanover’s Ashlee Arbaugh (Van Buren, Ohio/H.S.).  The freshman earned the Freshman Athlete of the Year award after leading the Panthers to the school’s third-straight women’s outdoor track and field championship.  Arbaugh earned a second place finish, a third place finish, and a sixth place finish at the meet.  The freshman finished second in the shot put (12.13 meters), third in the discus (33.57 meters), and sixth in the hammer throw (36.27 meters) at the championship meet.

Hanover’s Brian Power was named the HCAC Coach of the Year after leading the Panthers to the team title. Power, in his second season as head coach for the Panthers, led HC to their third-consecutive women’s outdoor track and field conference championship, garnering 179 points.

Awards Ceremony

Most Outstanding Female Track Athlete:  Anna Murdock, Franklin College

Most Outstanding Female Field Athlete:  Liz Evans, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology

Most Outstanding Freshman Female Athlete: Ashlee Arbaugh, Hanover College

Coach of the Year:  Brian Power, Hanover College



Brooke Lime, So., Defiance

Kim Bingley, Jr., Defiance

Anna Murdock, So., Franklin

Amanda Owen, Sr., Franklin

Danialle Hays, Jr., Franklin

Rachel Lucas, So., Franklin

Kerri Kinker, Sr., Franklin

Briahna Chambers, So., Hanover

Lexi Vincz, Sr., Hanover

Holli Leslie, Fr., Hanover

Emily Boyd, Sr., Hanover

Karla Madrigal, Sr., Manchester

Brianna Martinez, So., Manchester

Creasy Clauser, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Liz Evans, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Tanya Colonna, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Gloria Boxell, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Erin Cox, Jr., Rose-Hulman

2nd Team All-HCAC

Shantol McMahon, Jr., Anderson

Heather Quinlan, So., Anderson

Kali George, Jr., Defiance

Katie Heitkamp, Sr., Defiance

Joy Doucette, Sr., Earlham

Mackenzie Dye, So., Hanover

Ashlee Arbaugh, Fr., Hanover

Rachel Slade, Sr., Hanover

Khrystal Nugent, Sr., Hanover

Julie Miller, Sr., Hanover

Bridgette Rowe, So., Manchester

Ashley Kopla, Sr., Manchester

Ryann-Rebecca Montgomery, Jr., Rose-Hulman


All-Sportsmanship Team

Shantol McMahon, Jr., Anderson

Hannah Krull, Fr., Bluffton

Kelsey Bowling, So., Defiance

Joy Doucette, Sr., Earlham

Kerri Kinker, Sr., Franklin

Claire Hinshaw, So., Hanover

Rachel Weeber, So., Manchester

Alexandra Donald, Sr., Mount St. Joseph

Creasy Clauser, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Laura Clark, Sr., Transylvania