Rose-Hulman Picked to Win Second Straight HCAC Women's Indoor Track & Field Title

Rose-Hulman Picked to Win Second Straight HCAC Women's Indoor Track & Field Title

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology's women's track and field team has been selected as the front runner to win the 2019 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference indoor championship. The Fightin' Engineers held off Manchester University, receiving 95 points and six first place votes in a poll of the conference's ten head coaches. 

Manchester University will look to claim their second indoor championship at the meet this February, as the Spartans totaled a second-best 84 points and two first place votes.  Hanover College placed third in the poll with 80 points and one first place vote.  Bluffton University finished fourth with the final first place vote and 73 points and was followed by Earlham College (62 points), Anderson University (45), Defiance College (40), Transylvania University (27), Franklin College (24) and Mount St. Joseph University (20).

The Rose-Hulman Fightin' Engineers will look to claim their third indoor championship since the inaugural 2011 season at the meet this February. Senior Lauren London won a pair of events and earned first-team All-HCAC honors a year ago to lead RHIT. London won the 60-meter hurdles with a school record time (9.21) and also claimed the long jump title (17' 3 1/2") last February. Juniors Adekite Oladipupo and Clare Bruns and sophomore Lois Cheatham were members of the winning 4-x-200 and 4-x-400 teams last year, respectively, joining London on the All-HCAC list.

Manchester finished in fourth place last winter and will look to earn the school's second indoor title at this year's meet. Junior Hannah Wappes returns for the Spartans after claiming HCAC Indoor Track & Field Female Track Athlete of the Year last year. Wappes won the 800-meter run in a new conference record time of 2:18.97, and claimed the mile run title in a time of 5:25.78 to also earn All-HCAC honors last winter.

After a third place finish last season, Hanover College has been selected to place in the same slot at the upcoming indoor championships. The Panthers return two second team All-HCAC selections from last season's champion squad. Junior Eve Galbreath posted two second place finishes and a shot put mark of 11.58 meters and a 14.58 meter toss in the weight throw at last year's championships. Senior Erin Trimpe tied her own school record of 3.58m in the pole vault, while also tying for the top height at the HCAC championships. Trimpe earned a second place nod last February due to clearing tiebreakers.

The 2019 HCAC Women's Indoor Track and Field Championships are set for Saturday, February 16 at Defiance College.

Athletes to Watch


Mariah Murray

Jr., Jumps

Indianapolis, Ind.


Victoria Baver

So., Jumps

Garrett, Ind.


Krista Franklin

Fr., Sprints

McCordsville, Ind.


Ryley Burkhart

Sr., Throws

Charlottesville, Ind.


Emily Kelley

Jr., Throws

Indianapolis, Ind.


Alexis Cash

Jr., Distance

Gaines, Mich.


Jennie Matteson

Sr., Distance

Guysville, Ohio


Tori Bowen

Jr., Jumps

Wapakoneta, Ohio


Maelinn Delong

Sr., Throws

Archbold, Ohio



Meagan Trimpey


Bowling Green, Ohio


Lisa Maria Markau




Madi Bowman


Eaton, Ohio


Malia Ferry


Milford, Ohio


Mackenzie Moehrman


Deshler, Ohio



Ellie Haland

So., Distance

Afton, Minn.


Leilah Hicks

So., Sprints

Hammond, Ind.


Aishat Sadiq


Richmond, Texas



Kelsey Bowling

Sr., Jumps

Osgood, Ind.


Morgan Clarke

So., Jumps/Sprints

Indianapolis, Ind.


Jayla Callens

Jr., Distance

Jeffersonville, Ind.


Sarah Miller

Jr., Sprints

Boggstown, Ind.


Laura Worthington

Sr., Throws

Cloverdale, Ind.



Teal Burnett

Sr., Sprints

Marshall, Ill. 


Kenna Hunter

Jr., Jumps/Sprints

Mooresville, Ind.


Eve Galbreath

Sr., Throws

Vevay, Ind.


Erin Trimpe

Sr., Jumps

New Palestine, Ind.


Emily Clancy

Sr., Jumps

Columbus, Ind.


Dasia Beck

Sr., Sprints

Indianapolis, Ind.


Samina Qureshi

Sr., Distance

Columbia City, Ind.


Hannah Wappes

Jr., Distance

Columbia City, Ind.


Mount St. Joseph

Kiersten Lux

Jr., Throws

Waldron, Ind.


Emma Roth

Jr., Distance

Cincinnati, Ohio



Lauren London

Sr., Multi

Hurricane, W. Va.


Kally Morozin

Sr., Distance

Libertyville, Ill.


Adekite Oladipupo

Jr., Sprints/Jumps

Decatur, Ill.


Olivia Kee

Sr., Hurdles

Greenup, Ky.


Rian Boelter

Jr., Hurdles/Jumps

Hebron, Ky.


Taylor Allen

Fr., Sprints/Hurdles

Louisville, Ky.


Maya Jazdzewski

Fr., Jumps

Lexington, Ky.