Manchester Picked to Win Second-Straight HCAC Women's Cross Country Title

Manchester Picked to Win Second-Straight HCAC Women's Cross Country Title

GREENWOOD, Ind. – Manchester University's women's cross country team has been selected as the front runner to win the 2016 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference championship. The Spartans tallied 98 points and eight first place votes in a poll of the conference's ten head coaches. 

Bluffton University finished in second, collecting 86 points and two first place votes, while Hanover College placed third in the poll with 78 points.  Franklin College finished fourth with 65 points and was followed by Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology (63 points), Anderson University (60), Transylvania University (33), Mount St. Joseph University (28), Earlham College (20), and Defiance College (19).

Manchester University earned its fifth HCAC cross country championship last season. The Spartans totaled 47 points and held off second place Hanover by 25 points. The Spartans return two first-team All-HCAC selections from last season's team. Senior Mariah Jordan (Ft. Wayne, Ind. / Homestead) earned MVP honors with a first place finish for the Spartans.  Senior Tiffany Harber (Columbia City, Ind. / Columbia City) finished sixth for Manchester last fall.

Bluffton University placed third at last year's HCAC cross country championship last season with a total of 84 points.  The Beavers return one first-team All-HCAC selection and two honorable mention selections from last season.  Senior Anna Hairston (Mansfield, Ohio / Ontario) led the Beavers with a 10th place finish.  Junior Elaina Alpeter (Galloway, Ohio / Hilliard Bradley) finished 14th, while Alissa Hauke (Hillsboro, Ohio / Hillsboro) finished 15th for Bluffton.

Hanover College totaled 72 points for a second place finish in last season's HCAC cross country championship. Hanover is set to return one honorable mention All-HCAC member from a year ago.  Senior Cami Trachtman (Carmel, Ind. / Carmel) finished 13th for the Panthers last season.

The 2016 HCAC Women's Cross Country Championship will be hosted by Hanover College on Saturday, October 29.

The 2015 women's cross country season is set to begin on September 1.

Runners to Watch

Anderson   Sarah Repp   Sophomore   Connersville, Ind. / Connersville
    Sierra Ratzlaff   Sophomore   Lapel, Ind. / Lapel
    Whitney Andrews   Sophomore   Charlestown, Ind. / Charlestown
Bluffton   Anna Hairston   Senior   Mansfield, Ohio / Ontario
    Jennie Matteson   Sophomore   Guysville, Ohio / Alexander
    Alissa Hauke   Junior   Hillsboro, Ohio / Hillsboro
Defiance   Aaron Textor   Junior   Swanton, Ohio / Swanton
    Kayla Miller   Senior   Wadsworth, Ohio
Earlham   Mia Kaplan   Junior   Durham, N.C. / Durham Arts
    Victoria Trezona   Sophomore   Naperville, Ill. / Naperville North
    Leah Johnson   Sophomore   Denver, Colo. / George Washington
Franklin   Sadie Spears   Junior   Sellersburg, Ind. / Henryville
    Meghan Yencer   Sophomore   Poneto, Ind. / Southern Wells
    Rachel Bowden   Junior   New Albany, Ind. / New Albany
Hanover   Mackenzie Dean   Senior   Greenwood, Ind. / Center Grove
    Cami Trachtman   Senior   Carmel, Ind. / Carmel
    Korie Siebert   Senior   Borden, Ind. / Providence
Manchester   Mariah Jordan   Senior   Fort Wayne, Ind. / Homestead
    Tiffany Harber   Senior   Columbia City, Ind. / Columbia City
    Samina Qureshi   Sophomore   Columbia City, Ind. / Columbia City
    Shelby Harrell   Junior   Plymouth, Ind. / Plymouth
MSJ   Maria Waters   Sophomore   Cincinnati, Ohio / Mercy
Rose-Hulman   Camille Blaisdell   Junior   Barrington, Ill. / Barrington
    Emilie Hobbs   Senior   Peru, Ind. / Peru
    Emma Ross   Junior   Connersville, Ind. / Connersville
    Kally Morozin   Sophomore   Libertyville, Ill. / Carmel Catholic
Transylvania   Elizabeth Deaton   Junior   Tuscon, Ariz. / Pima CC
    Riley Bresnahan   Junior   Morgantown, W.Va. / University
    Rebecca Factor   Sophomore   Louisville, Ky. / Ballard