Manchester Picked to Win HCAC Women's Cross Country Title

Manchester Picked to Win HCAC Women's Cross Country Title

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Manchester University's women's cross country team has been selected as the front runner to win the 2018 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference championship. The Spartans tallied 90 points and four first place votes in a poll of the conference's ten head coaches. 

Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology finished in second, collecting 85 points and two first place votes, while Bluffton University placed third in the poll with 81 points and one first place vote.  Earlham College finished fourth with 80 points and the final three first place votes. The Quakers were followed by Franklin College and Hanover College (55 points), Anderson University (39), Transylvania University (31), Mount St. Joseph University (18), and Defiance College (16).

Manchester University will look to capture its seventh HCAC women's cross country title this season. The Spartans totaled 60 points to garner a second place finish behind Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology at the 2017 championships. Manchester returns three first-team All-HCAC selections from last season's team. Junior Hannah Wappes (Columbia City, Ind.) earned All-HCAC honors with a second place finish for the Spartans. Senior Samina Qureshi (Columbia City, Ind.) and junior Emily Ewen (Wolcott, Ind.) finished fifth and tenth, respectively, for the Spartans last fall.

Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology claimed the school's first title at last year's HCAC women's cross country championships with a total of 56 points. The Fightin' Engineers return one first-team All-HCAC selection and two honorable mention selections from last season.  Senior Kally Morozin (Libertyville, Ind.) led Rose-Hulman with third place finish. Junior Rachel Shubella (Salt Lake City, Utah) finished 14th, while junior Mary Petersen (Zionsville, Ind.) finished 19th for the Engineers.

Bluffton University totaled 63 points for a third place finish in last season's HCAC cross country championship. The Beavers return two All-HCAC selections from 2017, including the reigning HCAC Women's Cross Country Most Valuable Runner. Junior Alexis Cash (Gaines, Mich.) took first place at last fall's championship with a time of 22:57.63. Senior Jennie Matteson (Guysville, Ohio) also returns for Bluffton. Matteson claimed a fourth place finish at the cross country championships last October.

The 2018 HCAC Women's Cross Country Championship will be hosted by Mount St. Joseph University in Shelbyville, Ind. on Saturday, October 27.

The 2018 women's cross country season is set to begin on August 31.

Runners to Watch

Anderson      Tess Wise     Senior     Lynn, Ind.
      Kailyn Turner     Sophomore     New Palestine, Ind.
Bluffton     Alexis Cash     Junior     Gaines, Mich.
      Jennie Matteson     Senior     Guysville, Ohio
      Kimberly Hetrick     Sophomore     Fremont, Ohio
Defiance     Mackenzie Moerhman     Sophomore     Deshler, Ohio
      Olivia Fett     Senior     Defiance, Ohio
      Kenna Bell     Sophomore     Piqua, Ohio
Earlham     Ana Sosa-Ebert     Sophomore     Washington, D.C.
      Ellie Haland     Sophomore     Afton, Minn.
      Mairead Blatner     Sophomore     Northampton, Mass.
Franklin     Grace Esterline     Sophomore     Brownsburg, Ind.
      Krista Robinson     Sophomore     Greenwood, Ind.
      Jayla Callens     Junior     Jeffersonville, Ind.
Hanover     Morgan Hamilton     Senior     Connersville, Ind.
      Ariel Barlow           Francesville, Ind.
      Caitlyn Naghdi           Carmel, Ind.
Manchester     Hannah Wappes     Junior     Columbia City, Ind.
      Emily Ewen     Junior     Wolcott, Ind.
      Samina Qureshi     Senior     Columbia City, Ind.
MSJ     Maria Waters     Senior     Cincinnati, Ohio
      Kaitlyn Sharp     Freshman     Amelia, Ohio
      Jamie Lenart     Freshman     Sylvania, Ohio
Rose-Hulman     Kally Morozin     Senior     Libertyville, Ill.
      Rachel Shubella     Junior     Salt Lake City, Utah
      Mary Petersen     Junior     Zionsville, Ind.
Transylvania     Hannah Compton     Freshman     Huntington, W.V.
      Rebecca Facktor     Senior     Louisville, Ky.
      Josie Cunnningham     Sophomore     Lexington, Ky.